Governments should spend money on railways rather roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is such a remarkable tendency that the number of countries owing railway systems had grown. Some people argue that it is high time that Government used more much money on railways instead of roads. From my view, do I both concur and dispute with this statement due to following reasons.

On the one hand, there are several benefits that railway lines should be invested rather than roads. First and for most, it is believed to be the most effective method of transportation in the future. Not only saving time but residents also gain little money. Buying ticket is more inexpensive than owing a private vehicle. Furthermore, moving from one place to another by trains is safer and quite quicker than by car or motorbike. Secondly, the more cutting-edge a variety of railways are namely subway and high-speed train, the less contaminated the air pollution is. Should individual means of transportation are minimized, CO2 will be eliminated dramatically that leads to the savage of public purse.

On the other hand, I disagree with this opinion due to the number of drawbacks. To begin with, it is such a long-lasting plan that the Government should take many factors into consideration namely geography, modern technologies, labour forces and burden as well. Providing that these conditions are not reasonable to adapt, either train or road transport will have bad quality. Instead of spending a huge amount of money developing railway system, enhancing current another type of transport is believed to be better. Next, the increasing in number of railways leads to many extra requirements. For example, both stations and automatic ticket machines should be set up. Moreover, tracks are necessary to be checked and improved frequently that consumes a numerous of public burden.

In conclusion, whether train is preferred to be manufactured to other forms of transport or not depending on how a country's situations and what the Government's policies are.