Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

Railways for the train and roads for cars both bring convenience to people, but in terms of the cost, the difficulty of construction and the profits, I believe that roads are better.

Admittedly, trains can carry more goods than cars and transport faster. The distance between two places is quite shorter in the railways, compared with roads which are always curved around the mountains. Also, the speed of trains is higher than cars because there is almost no traffic lights in the railways. However, the cost of them is significantly different. The construction of railways usually requires the government to dig tunnels due to mountains the countryside, which is incredibly expensive. On the contrary, roads can be built around the mountain and engineers can design the route without crossing the mountains. Although the total distance is extended, the money for this is negligible in contrast to the cost of the tunnel.

What's more, roads are more convenient than railways in two aspects. Firstly, people can drive private cars on roads rather than railways since railways are only suitable for trains. Whenever one wants to travel, he can drive the car to wherever he wants to go, while he cannot take the train due to the fact that there are usually no trains at night. Secondly, trains can only stop at the train station. Because train stations can only be built in the city or in a small town with a large population. For villagers who live in remote areas without train stations, there is no choice but to get off the train at the nearest station then walk home.

All in all, considering the money spent in construction and the convenience of two kinds of transportation, it is wise for governments to build roads for the sake of the development of the country and the local people.