The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter, the author asserts that limiting the number of rentals of mopeds from fifty a day to twenty five a day will reduce the number of accidents in moped accidents, due to the achievement achieved by the neighboring island of Seaville which took the same measure. Convincing though his argument may seem at first glance, there are a number of questions needed answering. In order to decide whether the recommendation is reasonable, we need to ask more questions. The argument could end up being unconvincing or invalid, depending on the answers to those questions.

To begin with, while the number of moped accidents is increasing because of the increase of population during the summer months, whether or not those accidents result from the number of mopeds needs a second look. If there are so many pedestrians in the street that the road is too crowded, it is possible that moped accidents can happen frequently. This scenario would seriously challenge the conclusion that it is the number of mopeds that lead to accidents. Also, there still exists two questions whether people can drive mopeds safely in the road and whether all the pedestrians obey the traffic rules. If mopeds accidents are mostly due to carelessness of drivers, the measure recommended by the author can be ineffective. If most pedestrians don’t follow the traffic rules, fewer mopeds don’t guarantee a reduction on moped accidents.

Although the neighboring island of Seaville whose town council enforced similar limits, it remains to be seen whether Balmer Island can make the same results or not. Other factors, such as the road, the type of mopeds, could potentially affect the result. Besides, it is unknown whether the population of Seaville is the same as Balmer Island during the summer season. If the number of people in Seaville is quite different from Balmer Island, either bigger or smaller, no one can surely say similar limits can result in the same achievements. Besides, it is unclear whether the number of companies in both islands are the same. The enforcement only requests each company reduce moped rental, and if there are more companies in Seaville, there is a great possibility that such limits on Balmer Island will achieve less reduction in moped accidents than Seaville.

Granted that Balmer Island is nearly the same as Seaville, we need to consider whether in the future council will decrease the moped accidents to 50 percent. If next year, the population grows sharply to almost twice as that in this year, the mopeds accidents can not reduce to what has been expected by Balmer Island’s council. Although each company can only rent 25 mopeds per day, will there be more moped rental companies? If so, the recommendation can be invalid. If all things keep the same next year, the recommendation can be effective.

To sum up, the author makes the recommendation that Balmer Island’s town council should enforce moped rental limits, considering similar limits made by Seaville’s town council last year can achieve the same result on Balmer Island. From what has been mentioned above, only when we have further information to answer those questions can we put forward the conclusion that his recommendation is effective.