Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The large amount of money should be spent by governments in some places on railway networks. I completely disagree with this idea, and instead the funds should be allocated for highways development.

There are several reasons why railway systems should not be invested. Firstly, it is extremely expensive to train staffs for building a new railway network, and equipment and facilities also come at a huge cost. Secondly, it is a waste of time to build a whole new rail line due to limited areas, you need to choose a place carefully. Finally, using a public railways could brings several limitations when you are in hurry. When you wake up at 8 A.M and you had meeting at 8.30 A.M, it could be better to use your private vehicles such as cars or motorbikes.

I believe that the money for investment in rail lines should go to highways instead. It is much cheaper to train workers for constructing roads rather than staffs who works for railway network projects. Also, roads are much more popular and friendly to all kinds of transportation. For example, roads are allocated by both private and public vehicles such as cars, buses, bikes, etc but we can not do similar things on rail lines. Moreover, constructing a road is very flexible at any place with simple techniques and facilities.

In conclusion, my view is that governments should spend money on roads due to easily accessibility, and it is not efficient to pay money on railway system that is limited to train as only vehicles.