Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads

In recent years, the renovation of traffic infrastructure using national budgets has been subjected to lots of debate. Although some believe that railways should be more invested than roads, I consider that spending money for roads will be far more significant

It is true that in order to reduce air pollution and traffic jams, the encouragement of using public transportations, for instance, the subway becomes far more common nowadays. For this reason, the railways are taken into account in the concern of the government leading to the consideration of budgets expense. It is undeniable that the government should spend money on railways improvement, however, these budgets should be a priority for road construction for several reasons.

Firstly, roads are the foremost way for transportation despite any conditions. For example, for some areas which have lots of rocks and mountains, it is unfeasible to build a railway network in this disadvantaged case. In this circumstance, roads are effective substitution, which supports people to join in such difficult terrains. Secondly, roads are not only for transportation but also for trading. It is easy to see the range of big buildings from shop centers to restaurants along the main roads, which not only serve the local citizens but also attract tourists from other countries. Imagine that if the roads are always in a downgraded state, the customers will be in a state of unsatisfactory, which drives them to different choices in other places. As a consequence, the country will lose its attraction, which detrimentally impacts on the national economy.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the government should invest money on roads rather than railways because roads play important roles in transportation as well as the national economy.