Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Improving fundamental infrastructures of integrated roads are becoming highly controversial nowadays. I personally, feel that to say money spending should be on railroads rather than roads is not justified, and I will explain why in this essay.

Firstly, thanks to modern technology, using private vehicles and also public transportation systems especially in crowded cities seems to be dramatically high. Meaning that, in order to reduce bottlenecks, authorities have to improve the quality of both roads and railways to help decreasing congestion in inner part of the cities. Secondly, of course, countryside dwellers and people living in hinterlands find traveling by public transportation more affordable, but lack of enough trains causes less frequent schedules which leads messy wagons in peak hours, then they decide to go to their workplaces by commute car pooling instead. Therefore, dedicating budgets for roads are also necessary.

Admittedly, I do understand the views about considering much more budgets for railways rather than roads. Because, people may think that using trains is more cheaper than private cars. Nevertheless, not all people have to travel by trains. For example people who live in small cities do not need traveling long distances to get to their workplaces, and using personal cars can be affordable because of the low consumption of fuel in short distances for citizens.

Overall, I believe that improving standards of integrated roads and railways both should be considered, because high population need to have different choices to get to their destinations more conveniently and without tolerating long distance exhaustion for the only reason of congestion specially in conurbations.