Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It has been argued that governments should invest in railway systems more than in roads. Personally, I partly disagree with this statement as my belief is every traffic system is deserved to develop equally.

These days, residents of developed countries choose to commute by trains or buses every day. It's said that railway is much faster, safer and more convenient for commuters. Train's average speed is higher than car's speed, railway systems are also built underground, therefore people are no need to worry about traffic congestion or annual accidents. That's why many believe governments should spend money on developing and maintaining subway systems, which is a truth that no one can deny owing to the increasing number of people commuting by trains daily.

However, it doesn't mean that usual roads are unimportant. A large number of residents still use cars to travel between places since some prefer spending time on road in private space to squeezing in crowded subways. Moreover, roads are main active areas of some particular people, such as police working in traffic departments, taxi drivers and delivers. It also can be clearly seen that firefighters and medical teams need wider roads because particular transportation require space in order to access fires or endangered people. Furthermore, roads are parts of infrastructure, therefore governments cannot just leave roads out of their developing plans.

To sum up, both kinds of transporting systeen need investment and governments have to consider about how to improve traffic systems effectively and equally to ensure resident's safety wherever they are.