Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people think that the government ought to allocate more of their budget to railroads than roadways. I completely agree with this statement because trains are faster and more environmentally friendly.

Firstly , investing in a modern train system will mean that people can get around a country faster. To put it another way, travelling by train saves time for the passengers since they are faster than cars and buses.Moreover, in most countries around the world, train fares are considerably lower than bus fares or taxi fares. A recent study found that after implementing Metro rail project in Dhaka, capital of Bangladesh, people can reach Motijil from Uttora within 20 minutes whereas it took an hour before.

Another point to consider is that locomotives tend to be less harmful to the environment than cars .This is because a train can carry hundreds of passengers and this prevents the hundreds of internal combustion engines, thus reducing the amount of carbon emissions. If this is repeated everyday over many routes ,the reduction in carbon footprint is highly significant.In addition, it reduces global warming. Recent research concluded that after introducing more railway routes in Delhi, capital of India, the carbon emissions were reduced by 35%. One of the main benefit of this project is that the levels of carbon dioxide has reduced dramatically because of the reduction in traffic.

To sum up, the government should expend more funds to railway systems and spend less on roads as this will reduce travel time and also be less detrimental to the environment.