Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Transportation, such as train, car, plane and ferry, is improtant for people. Therefore, governments should construct infrastructure for every means of transportation. However, some people claim that governments ought to invest money on railways rather than roads. This essay utterly oppose this view.

To begin with, governments should not only spend money on railways because transportation by train has multiple demerits. Firstly, by train is not an optimal choice, if traveler need to arrive a destination thousand miles away, whchi will take more than one day. In this case, by plane is more comfortable and time-saving than by trian. Secondly, certain terrain is not suitable for laying rails. Thus, trains cannot reach everywhere as people wanted. Lastly, live stocks are not suitable for transporting by train. For example, to transport cows and sheeps will require enormous effort to accomplish the job. Due to these disadvantages of transporting by train, the government must not merely invest on railway, rather they should consider other means of transportation.

By contrast, roads own immense advantages in terms of transportation, therefore, government should also spend money on constructing roads. First, roads cover far more area than trans. Cars can stop at any place on roads; whereas, trains can only stop at stations. Second, everyday life of residents necessitates a comprehensive road network. For instance, roads need to be constructed to link venues like supermarket, hostipal, home and so on. Therefore, government also ought to build roads to provied necessity for daily life.

To recapitulate, this essay rejects the idea that governments should spend money on railways rather than roads, because roads are equally important, so are other means of transportation.