Group or team activities can teach more important skills for life than those activities which are done alone. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

It is widely acknowledged that solo activities are likely to teach fewer significant life skills than those that are performed by teams or groups. From my perspective, while group activities would be important, the benefits of those done alone should be taken into consideration.

On the one hand, there are many reasons why group or team activities would be advantageous. First and foremost, working in the environment with group or team activities helps individuals foster discussion and collaboration skills to work with people from different backgrounds. As a result, individuals will have more opportunities to approach problems in a multi-dimensional way, which brings more productivity to work. When it comes to the latter, by working in team activities, individuals will foster communication skills, like conversing and convincing others. Apart from this, these are helpful for them when applying for schools and when looking for jobs.

On the other hand, taking part in individual activities would be beneficial for some reasons. With regard to the former, those done alone in challenging work develop their perspective on a problem. Additionally, individuals who have more experience working solo can foster research and critical thinking skills. In terms of the second point, individuals working by themselves are hardly affected by the distraction of other people, so this helps them focus better on a task, leading to working more efficiently than working in groups.

In conclusion, I am inclined to believe that although there are many benefits of participating in team activities, the advantages of those done by individuals should not be underestimated.