A growing number of people rely on restaurants and convenience food (frozen food and packaged meals) rather than home-cooked food to supply most of their meals.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of eating this way?

Living in the information age, people have a tendency to depend on food which is delivered by restaurants and convenient stores, including frozen food and packaged meals. This means that individuals do not cook at home for their meals. There are both advantages and disadvantages for this way.

On the one hand, a growing body of research suggests that convenience food plays an integral part of individuals’ life. There are a few of reasons to explain why people have to utilize this way for their private life. To be more precise, those who rely on restaurants and convenience food can save their time and spend their entire time on working for their job. Besides that, people who struggle to cook at home can use this way to tackle their weakness immediately. Taking developed countries around the world, especially America as an example, individuals have a propensity to contain a plethora of frozen food and packaged meals in their refrigerator for every meal, even young people, especially those who are living alone, are more likely to happen this situation than other groups of ages.

On the other hand, there are obviously disadvantages for this way. First and foremost, individuals can not know how many calories they absorb into their body. This can lead to the ever-increasing obesity in people, especially countries which fast food can boost faster. Besides that, everyone can know that cooking at home for themselves is one of the most prominent ways to keep money by their side so those who booked meals to delivery to their house have to splurge their money. In fact, this way tend to be more likely to happen in developed countries than developing countries or underdeveloped countries. For instance, according the research of Amsterdam University in Holland, every year citizens in this country spend a huge sum of money on frozen food and packaged meals because they do not have enough time to cook so they decide to pay more money to buy restaurant-cooked food instead.

In conclusion, although cooking at home brings more advantages on their health than frozen food or packaged meals outside, individuals, nowadays, tend to use it for more convenient reasons in their life. On balance, I prefer to cook at home to control the food I absorb, prolong my life expectancy and keep my good health as well.