Health care should not be provided for free regardless of a person’s income. The health of a person is in their own hands and they should, therefore, be held accountable for that. Do you agree with this opinion?

Some people argue that providing free health care for every member of the society is a waste of money, and thus it is the individual’s own responsibility to care for his or her health. I totally disagree with the idea.

One the one hand, it is absurd to argue that health care should be provided according to income level. The fund supporting public health system comes from the nation’s tax, which is deemed to generate public welfare. Financing health insurance as well as medicare is therefore legitimate. Moreover, providing free healthcare is a responsibility of the government. For example, the public agency always offers subsidies for disabled patients, whom are partly or fully incapable of making their own livings. Without such subsidies, it can be a huge burden to the disabled, let alone their families.

On the other hand, it is either dangerous or unrealistic that only the individuals are accountable for their health. Physical states of a person also matters to the whole society, as it is a combination of hundreds and thousands of human unit. If the government refuses to care for the citizen’s health, serious diseases such as AIDs and influenza can easily turn the “single” problem into a nationwide issue, and thus bring chaos to the society. Likewise, some types of health problems are actually caused by the society. Obesity, for example, results not only from the patients’ unhealthy lifestyle, but also the popularity of high-calorie junk food for which the producers are responsible.

To sum up, developing free health-care system is a must for the society. Apart from individuals themselves, the government as well as other social entities should too work on improving public health.