Here and more people are relying on the private car at their major meant of transportation. Describe some of the problems over-reliance on cars can cause, and suggest at least one possible solution.

Majority of the people own at least one car which they use as a medium of transportation. This dependence on private vehicles poses many drawbacks that need to be taken care of to prevent more negative consequences.

Traffic becomes a primary concern when there is an excessive number of vehicles. In particular, Philippines is among the worst country in terms of traffic condition which makes it harder to reach a destination at a designated time. This results in serious problems like those cases of people losing patience and caught fighting while queuing along the jam-packed highway.

Moreover, the presence of air and noise pollution can lead to health problems among people living along the roadside as well as those people using public transportation like jeepneys which is a four-wheeled vehicle designed without any window covering for ventilation. In terms of health issues, drivers are the most affected, but aside from that, these people depend on passengers for their income. If all the people have their own transport, it would greatly affect the drivers financially which will eventually lose their source of income.

To solve this problem, the government has set a coding for private vehicles and cars that are allowed to run for a specified day, but this has not solved the problem completely. One solution I can recommend is to create railways just like the situation in Singapore where most people use trains as public transport and cars are rarely seen on the road, but some developing countries are not financially adequate to support such ambitious project.

It might be convenient to own a private vehicle, but it has many downsides that directly and indirectly affect the people, therefore, it should be lessened and possibly stopped.