While many students opt for self-study of English rather than learning it in formal classes, there is a widespread notion that this mode of learning is often challenging since it does not involve a teacher’s help. This essay will completely agree that despite attracting a large number of students, studying English on one’s own, without the external assistance, is actually difficult.

An underlying reason for a huge quantity of learners to choose a self-study mode of learning the English language can be the exorbitant fees for English classes. That is to say that teaching a language, especially English that is the most famous and ubiquitous, has become the major source of income in many language centres throughout the world, which ensures the enhancement of language proficiency for a short period of time but for high prices. Consequently, in order to avoid such payments, many students tend to study by themselves. For example, in Uzbekistan, knowing English has become prestige that most well-known centres charge extremely hefty costs per student, which leaves many students with poor or mediocre income background no options other than studying alone with no teacher.

However, the drawback of a self-study regime is manifestly inevitable. In other words, any learner, while studying a language, must be given an appraisal and feedback, which are helpful in analysing one’s mistakes and in measuring the progress. For example, according to a recent survey, more than half of the participants, who studying English on a self-study basis, continued making the same mistakes over and over again without realising them. Therefore, understanding the errors during the learning is of paramount importance, and can solely be achieved with the help of a teacher.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that a large number of students, instead of attending formal courses, select the method of self-learning English. I do believe that this preference is disadvantageous due to the absence of evaluation by the teacher, and hence, the concept of self-study may not always be handy.