Human activity has had a negative impact on plants and animals around the world. Some people think that this cannot be changed, while others believe actions can be taken to bring about a change. Discuss both sides of the view and give your opinion.

For centuries, human beings have exploited animals and plants for their life. So far, the more human civilization develops, the more animals and plants suffer from human activity. Some people claim that this trend cannot be reversed while others, including me, are optimistic that we can improve the situation with suitable actions.

Pessimists think that human beings cannot stop their harmful activities towards plants and animals because of the public indifference to the issue and employment as two main hurdles. If every industry that has harmful influence on animals and plants were forced to be stopped, it would be impossible to create millions of new jobs for workers who were fired from those fields. For example, although millions of livestock are slaughtered everyday, this feeds more than 55 million employees working in this industry around the world, according to a study published in 2020. Furthermore, the majority of the world population is too busy dealing with their daily problems, such as raising their children and traffic congestions, to concern the interest of animals and plants. For instance, a survey conducted in 2019 shows that in developing countries, 85 percent of deforestation plans reached consensus among local communities because they brought them economic benefit to overcome poverty.

Although admitting aforementioned difficulties, optimists believe education in favor of and raising public awareness of plant and animal protection can produce notable improvement in this issue. If children are nurtured with love for plants and animals surrounding them instead of the greed to make profit at any cost, obviously in the future, they are less likely to earn money by trafficking endangered animals or accepting construction of hydroelectric power plants, which requires the destruction of square hectares of forest. Moreover, by increasingly informed the public of evidence suggesting that many activities damaging to plants and animals also impair our life quality, our society can have more motivations to adjust each individual’s behaviors, finding a way for both human beings and plants and animals to thrive. For instance, because sea pollution reduces not only the population of sea creatures but also profit from fishing, it is reasonable for fisherman to save the sea environment.

In conclusion, while unemployment and the lack of concern for animals and plants do not allow modern society to stop hurting animals and plants, developing children’s attachment to and heightening the public consciousness of animal and plant protection can be first steps to be taken to bring about a change.