Human beings like to copy each other and this is reflected in the popularity of fashion clothes, and consumer goods. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is true that the proclivity of human beings to imitate one another is shown in the prevalence of fashion clothes and consumer commodities. There are good arguments both for and against this view, but I believe it depends on different reasons.

I completely agree with the idea that some individuals like to copy each other so they tend to purchase similar clothes and other consumer goods. The first prominent justification is that fashion has placed importance on modern lifestyle as people increasingly pay attention to aesthetic values. Furthermore, people aspire to fit in because of desirableness to be acceptable and perceived as trendy and stylish individuals. In addition, when it comes to consumer goods, people are inclined to connect the status with some certain brands in today’s society of materialism and consumerism. For example, Giorgio Armani and Mercedes are two of the brands symbolize for status and success.

However, I believe that not everyone wants to follow others. Firstly, regardless of the trend in fashion and products, some people want to keep their own lifestyle and maintain their individualities, especially some artist who want to create their own styles. Secondly, for those who do not care about the outward appearance of products like the elderly and the underprivileged, the value in use plays a more vital role. Finally, not only is imitating leads to purchasing similar commodities but also advertising is another reason contributes to the prevalence of fashion and consumer products. For instance, if Apple had not started such great marketing campaigns, it would not have made a huge trend whenever they launched a new version of a cell phone.

In conclusion, while reasons can be given to justified that the inclination of human beings to imitate others is reflected in the ubiquity of fashion and consumer products, I believe this is not an accurate statement under any circumstances.