Human society has made great technological progress in the last hundred years. Some people think this also has negative effects on our life. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is clear that improvements in technology have changed the ways people live their lives and complete work. Although technology makes our life more convenient and comfortable, I would argue that it also brings some problems such as health issues.

Many people who rely heavily on high-tech devices may form a sedentary lifestyle, and their health will suffer. Those people spend more than 8 hours sitting in front of the computer and just use communication tools to chat with others, these behaviours can increase the risk of suffering health problems. For instance, office workers who just use their computers to communicate with their clients every day and even order takeaway may be subject to heart disease. These people are too busy with their work and they even do not have time to go to the canteen to have lunch. As a consequence, although computers and internet can be used to give them a hand with living more easily, this way of life can have an adverse on their health.

Another problem that technology brings to us is that it may lead to a rising of the unemployment rate. Many manufacturing industries nowadays can work automatically, which means that these companies do not need employees. For example, computer components can be prepared by robots and they can work 24 hours a day. Considering the economic context, since workers have to have a rest and need to be paid salary in comparison to robots, many employers would rather choose smart machines to help them produce products than recruit worker. As a result, it is unlikely for people to find a job easily.

On the other hand, there is no doubt that technologies have made a big positively difference to our life. We can make use of these high-tech devices to make our way of life more comfortable and timesaving. For example, the high-speed train can reduce the time and economic cost. When people want to have a long distance trip and their budgets and time are limited, the invention of the high-speed train can help them solve this problem. Also, people are allowed to have a video chat with others no matter where they are if there is an internet connection. These people will not worry about their family conditions and it can also help them maintain a good family tie with the help of the internet.

In conclusion, technologies affect our life positively, but the negative influence should not be ignored. I believe that people who rely heavily on technologies may suffer health problems.