Nowadays some countries encourage people to buy more and more products, while others believe it has negative effects on the society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Bare necessities cannot satisfy people’s need due to the improvements in living standard. Although overconsumption can have an adverse influence on our social progress to some extent, I would argue that it will bring more benefits.

One problem associated with people buying an increasing number of products is that the production of manufactural industries will increase, which means that more energies will be used and these products may cause tons of rubbish. The needs for sources will have a dramatic increase and the waste of products can be damaging to the environment. For example, the making of clothes needs massive energies, and some non-biodegradable plastics can have a destructive effect on the environment. As a result, the energies will run out quickly due to the fact that people buy tons of these products, meanwhile, the garbage will be everywhere. People will find it difficult to make Our society sustainable.

On the other hand, the ability of consumers’ consumption plays a crucial role in economic development. Money circulating in the market will stimulate the development of business, since many companies can get loans to open their new branches. For instance, the electronic devices produced by the Huawei Company are very popular among people, if each customer buys several products from this company, Huawei will have enough capital to open new branches and develop new technologies. As a consequence, t people can get a better experience using their products and live a happier life. What’s more, when these companies get a huge profit, they will pay more taxes, and these taxes can be used to build more public facilities.

In conclusion, although overconsumption may cause a waste of source and even environmental degradation, it is still likely for people to enjoy this kind of rich materials life.