If old people are no longer physically, mentally or financially able to look after themselves, younger family members should be legally responsible for supporting them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Physical and mental well-being seem to stem from the fact that aging has a detrimental indirect impact on senior citizens earning potential. While it is undeniably the duty of the younger family generation to take supplementary care of the elderly, governmental authorities should also take their part in assisting them in the last period of their lives.

Above any external support from society, family members, who are believed to be flesh and blood, should look after the elderly. As a matter of fact, this has become a social norm, and humans who do not obey are regarded as disrespectful. Furthermore, the elderly in the family are able to play an essential role in raising the children; hence, being cared for by the younger generation as they become older is completely appropriate. In contrast, in Western countries, an indirect method applied by some households is deciding to place the elderly in nursing homes for medical treatment and care. The author prefers this measurement, although many nations respecting young people's direct home duties continue to reject it.

Aside from the support of their own families, elderly citizens deserve to receive government assistance due to their decades-long devotion to the nation. In fact, The United States is an excellent example of a country with an enormous financial budget for aiding the elderly. American nationals get a substantial pension or grant in their old age, permitting them to pay for the rest of their lives with or without the help of their offspring. Another reason behind this could be mitigating the burden of financing a great number of the young without employment. Besides, Family members may lack the necessary medical or caregiving skills to provide adequate care, particularly for individuals with complex medical needs.

In conclusion, young individuals are considered to be in charge of caring for elderly family members. This obligation, however, should not rest only on the young; instead, they ought to seek government aid as a means of honoring older individuals for their dedication.