If old people are no longer physically, mentally or financially able to look after themselves, younger family members should be legally responsible for supporting them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern era, the responsibility of younger people in taking care of their elderly family members is a topic of interest and concern. Personally, I support the view that the young people should be accountable for supporting their aging individuals who are physically, mentally or financially incapable.

The primary reason for my belief is that the younger people have a duty to take reasonable care for their parents in most Asian countries due to their long-standing customs of moral norms. In fact, not only family relationship has been built from loving, caring and mutual supporting, it is also fostered by legal obligations of family members according to legal systems of governments in many countries. For example, nowadays, the punishment on irresponsibility behaviors toward caring parents has been strictly enforced by Vietnamese legal regulation. In other words, on no account do youngsters not fulfill the responsibility of taking care of their aging parents, who have devoted a lot of time and resources to raising them. Moreover, the lack of filial piety could also affect the national economy because the government might have to spend more subsidies for the elderly. In addition, although looking after old family members could be considered as the responsibility of most young people, its degree also depends on the economic, health and work-life schedule conditions of younger members. Therefore, ensuring the quality of private life as well as looking after aging parents are things that young people should learn to balance.

The second reason for my viewpoint is that only when elderly family members have been taken great care from their offsprings would they receive the greater practical merits and love than anyone else. This is because the younger family members, especially those in adulthood, often have the stable health and facility, which might make them willing to provide great life conditions for their parents with sincere hearts besides their private lives. Indeed, nursing home or not-for-profit care services might have a certain limit because they have to take care of many old-aged people with many other expenses, not to mention they also have their own lives and their parents. Thus, this option might not be the great choice compared to the provision of the older’s offsprings. Therefore, the equitable distribution of parental care responsibilities among young family members could lessen the burden on each person in addition to giving their parents the best things.

To conclude, I am firmly convinced that the adult should be legally responsible for their parents in terms of supporting and caring because of long-standing customs of moral norms in most countries and the practical merits from offsprings’ sincere love.