Young people today mostly learn by reading books or watching movies, rather than real-life experiences. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The learning approach of youngsters is a major topic of concern these days. While some people believe that teenagers often learn by reading books or watching movies instead of practical experiences, I completely disagree with this point of view.

The first justification for my disagreement is that most of the zoomers' generation tend to have unique and bold perception compared to previous generations. For instance, they are likely considered as healthy young people who love to explore and learn new things. In fact, this might be depended on the person’s personality. In other words, while a number of youngsters would prefer to join in collective activities for learning, the others have a desire of emerging themselves in their favorite books or movies to gain knowledge. Nevertheless, with the continuous advancement of society, the demand of acumen and flexibility are more essential for young people’s career, besides their academic performance. Therefore, many researchers have indicated that teenagers are showing positive signs in participating in more practical experiences than before, with the aim of accumulating skills, widening the circle of relationships as well as impressing employers.

Another reason for my belief is that through modern living conditions, there are more practical trips and programs organized by schools and professional organizations these days. Indeed, as observed in recent years by both experts and parents, most schools organize a field trip for their students at least once during the school year. For example, these could be a visit to a museum, a zoo or even a picnic with team building games. Similarly, some private education organizations also launch short-term summer camp study abroad trips with many gainful incentives and activities to attract affluent parents to register their children to enroll. Thus, it can be seen that access to real-life experiences in modern times is not a difficult prospect because some schools have considered it as a compulsory condition in terms of learning.

To conclude, I completely disagree that teenagers almost learn by reading books or watching movies instead of practical experiences due to two main aforementioned reasons.