Young people today mostly learn by reading books or watching movies, rather than real-life experiences. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The learning approach of youngsters by books and movies or practical experiences is a major topic of concern these days. While some people believe that teenagers often learn by reading books or watching movies instead of practical experiences, I completely disagree with this point of view.

There are a number of unique characteristics of the Zoomers Generation (Gen Z) that support the argument of a better learning approach via practical skills. The first justification for my disagreement is that most of the Zoomers Generation tend to have a unique and bold perception in many fields, especially learning and action strategies, compared to previous generations. In particular, although the learning approach of teenagers might be depended on the person’s personality, they are almost considered as healthy young people who love to explore and learn new things. Accordingly, while some students have a desire for immersing themselves in thought-provoking books or movies, a number of youngsters would prefer to join in collective activities for learning to gain more insights. Moreover, with the continuous advancement of society, the demand of acumen and flexibility are more essential for young people’s career in addition to their academic performance. For example, many researchers have indicated that teenagers are showing positive signs in participating in more practical experiences than before, with the aim of accumulating skills, widening the circle of relationships as well as impressing employers.

Another reason for my argument is that due to modern living conditions, there are more and more programs organized by schools and professional organizations which stimulate the social skills of those youngsters these days. Indeed, as observed in recent years by both experts and parents, most schools organize a field trip for their students at least once during the school year. For instance, these practical activities could be visiting museums, zoos or even going on a picnic with team building games to enhance students’ knowledge and awareness about conservation of historical sites and endangered species. Similarly, some private education organizations also launch short-term summer camp study abroad trips with many gainful incentives and activities to attract affluent parents to register their children to enroll. Thus, it can be seen that access to real-life experiences in modern times would later benefit children’s creativity and communication skills directly contributing to their future career.

To conclude, I completely disagree that teenagers almost learn by reading books or watching movies instead of practical experiences due to two main aforementioned reasons.