Every government has a duty to provide free healthcare for its people. What are the advantages and disadvantages of the government providing free healthcare?

Providing free healthcare for citizens by every government is a major topic of concern in modern society. Despite some obvious disadvantages of this trend, I believe that these are outweighed by the advantages.

On the one hand, there are some reasons to believe providing free healthcare is unbeneficial. Firstly, since free healthcare does not require any payment from citizens, this costs the financial burden on the state budget. From there, the national economy would suffer from more pressure, leading to the fact that other services may be taxed high by the government. Secondly, another limitation is that this poses another pressure on human resources, especially professional and high-skilled doctors and nurses. Due to the fact that they have to shoulder the work at the hospital and also have to shoulder the overtime work in the free health care centers. As a result, doctors may feel mentally fatigued, leading to incorrect diagnosis of the patient's disease, affecting the patient's health.

On the other hand, I firmly believe that there are more significant benefits of providing free healthcare. First and foremost, the obvious great impact is that citizens will easily have access to healthcare through free programs provided by the government without being tightened by their financial budgets. Thus, people will remarkably increase the resilience of health risks prevention and control. Secondly, it contributed to encouraging citizens to be more health-conscious because of having the opportunity to have regular check-ups and getting a consultation from a doctor. Hence, their medical conditions have been treated immediately through suitable medical treatments, from that, people have improved their state of health. Thirdly, an additional positive aspect of providing free healthcare is that when getting advice from a doctor, citizens will have motivation to follow a well-balanced diet, stay hydrated and also avoid an excessive consumption of junk food. As a result, dietary changes help them stay in shape, nourish the body through good nutrient intake to build up a resistance to diseases.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that providing free healthcare is associated with the notable benefits, which far outweigh the benefits.