Many students find it difficult to concentrate or pay attention in school. What are the reasons? What could be done to solve this problem?

Difficulty paying attention in school is a major topic of concern these days. Some explanation for this problem will be put forward, before a few possible solutions are drawn.

There are four significant reasons as to why it is difficult to pay attention in school. One of the main reasons is that students do not carefully prepare exercise volume before class. This is simply because when students do not prepare their homework thoughtfully, they will not understand the knowledge of the next lessons. As a result, they will feel downhearted with complex lectures, leading to the distraction and difficulty paying attention to the lectures. Another cause is loose discipline in class. The reason is that new generation students often use smartphones during lectures, and also talk loudly to their classmates during class. Consequently, it not only causes distraction in the study of undisciplined students, but also negatively affects other students, who are trying hard to concentrate on the lessons, leading to unwell academic performance. Thirdly, tedious lessons are one of the factors making students distract. For instance, many teachers have just taught a lecture mechanically and stamped without mini-games, outdoor activities, and also interaction with students. As a consequence, due to the fact that boring teaching methods do not attract students, they will distract and even fall asleep in class, this will make learning outcomes not good. Lastly, another factor making student difficulty pay attraction is unsatisfied school infrastructure. For example, because of global warming, the weather is getting hotter and hotter. Therefore, air conditioner is a really necessary device in every class, where contain a lot of people, with the aim of cooling and temperature regulation. Unfortunately, this facility is not provided uniformly in schools, resulting in difficulty focusing on the lecture.

There are some solutions that can be implemented to address the problem. First and foremost, at the individual level, students need to study hard, preparing homework before the lessons in order to increase their understanding about the subject, therefore making it easier to focus on lessons in class. The second solution is that parents should strictly supervise their children about the use of smartphones everyday so as to avoid them using these devices undisciplined, especially during studying lessons. Besides, it is essential for students to be educated to keep quiet during lectures. Thirdly, the next possible solution is that teachers should attractively improve teaching methods to gain students' concentration. In particular, using a range of cutting-edge devices, color lectures, mini games and practical outdoor activities will make students more excited during class, thereby developing the quality of class and the lessons reception of students. The last but not least solution is that the Government should subsidize schools with infrastructure development costs. The modern age always required state-of-the-art devices such as air conditioner, projector, projection screen and standard lighting system with the aim of ensuring students’ health and study quality.

In conclusion, difficulty paying attention in school is caused by several factors by students, parents, teachers and even the government, and it might bring about some serious impacts as mentioned above.