If a person is given a choice between life without work and working a lot, he would prefer to have a life without work. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that some people would opt for a life without work instead of working intensively, in case they had to choose between the two. In my opinion, although I think that a life without work appears an appealing idea, it can satisfy the human being only for a certain period.

First of all, it is commonly known that a person spends virtually a lifetime at work. He or she works countless hours in order to earn a salary high enough so that they can afford to pay for the living expenses, the essential needs and other things that bring joy in their lives. Therefore, a person is dependent on money for most of their lives. If one stops working, he or she is likely to run out of financial resources in a couple of months, and following that their state of mind might be significantly affected.

Furthermore, many people want to succeed in something and, consequently, to be involved in various activities on a regular basis. They partly enjoy receiving laborious tasks because they are keen on getting promoted to a highly-regarded and better-paid position. In their endeavour to become successful, people have to benefit from an environment where they have the opportunity to show and enrich their knowledge, their skills and abilities. In other words, they seek reassurance that their work is deemed valuable and is going to bring the success they aim for. Plus, a job is likely to instill a sense of competition into an employee's mindset. Bearing all these in mind, it is clear that working contributes considerably to the matter in question.

To conclude, I strongly believe that taking into account both the advantages and drawbacks of working, it is worth spending a great part of the life at work, rather than staying jobless. I think that people would be overall more content with a life including an amount of time dedicated to working.