Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair.

Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Sport is very popular among a great majority of the people. While for some people playing sports represents only a free time activity, for other it is their job. Mostly over the last period of time, a successful sportsperson has earned huge amounts of money. There is no doubt that famous sports professionals are among the richest people in the world. However, some claim that it is not fair that persons working in other highly regarded fields do not earn as much money as the sportspersons.

First of all, ordinary people should be aware of the fact that most sportsmen have dedicated their time towards building up a successful professional career since they were little kids. They did not truly know what a childhood supposed. From an early age, their schedule has been drastic, consisting of harsh training sessions, many physical exercises in order to improve their physical fitness and endurance, and a certain nutrition. Therefore, a sportsperson does not have a high salary by doing nothing. He or she has spent countless hours working both physically and mentally so as to be as successful as they are. Furthermore, many sports professionals earn twice as much from endorsements , compared to their salary. For example, Roger Federer endorses the products of popular companies, such as Nike, Mercedes-Benz or Rolex.

On the other hand, it is explainable that some people feel they should earn higher amounts of money, given the fact their professions are also deemed important. Sports events benefit from a lot of media coverage and this might be a drawback for other professions. For instance, people do not know that there are so many brilliant doctors saving lives each day, because they do not see them on TV or on the Internet. Also, companies usually look for celebrities, such as sportspersons, because ordinary people are interested in their lives and they feel enticed to buy the products that famous people endorse.

To conclude, I strongly believe that successful sports professionals deserve the large sums they earn because they have been constantly working hardly to attain the highest level in their careers. Yet, I also think that people in other important professions should get more credit for what they do and consequently higher salaries.