The threat of nuclear weapons maintains the world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far out-weight the disadvantages.

Do you agree or disagree?

Nuclear power is by all means one of the most controversial topics nowadays. I think this is due to the fact that despite its unquestioned usefulness, still represents one of the biggest threats to the existence of our planet and the human race. Thereby, my feelings about it are mixed.

First of all, I do agree that nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. Earth already confronts with so many environmental issues. The big number of fabrics and vehicles have really polluted the air. There are places in the world which have gotten so polluted that the people were forbidden from stepping out of their houses. Hence we have to find ways to preserve and protect our planet. In this case, nuclear power is definitely a solution. Yet, there have been some nuclear accidents thus far. Probably the best-known are the ones in Fukushima and Chernobyl. People should take into consideration that nuclear power can be replaced with other forms of power, maybe even cheaper and cleaner. Hydopower, wind power or solar power are alternatives for this matter.

Unfortunately people do not use the nuclear power only for good purposes. Considering the level technology clinched, they have been able to create and improve the nuclear weapons. People are already aware of the damage which can be provoked by an atomic bomb. If an atomic bomb is dropped on a land, there will not be just sudden effects like the death of millions of people and the destruction of the land. A nuclear weapon which have been used can affect also the neighbourhoods and other generations who are yet to be born. It develops the so-called radiation sickness.

I cannot agree with the statement that the threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Everybody knows what had happened with the two Japanase cities, Hiroshima and Nagasaki, in the Second World War, on which The United States of America dropped two atomic bombs. By doing that, they have frightened the entire world. Nowadays there is a number of countries which are known for having nuclear weapons. For example, North Korea threatens the world lately, saying that they have and they are going to use their nuclear weapons. I reckon this as an act of showing their power in a world where we are supposed to live peacefully and equally.

That being said, I think it is exaggerated to say that the benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadventages. The nuclear power is partly beneficial partly risky. Still I strongly believe that no countries should produce nuclear weapons. If people are that afraid of nuclear power, they ought to get used to using less energy.