Reducing global environmental damage should be handled by governments rather than individuals. How far do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some that the government is mainly responsible for dealing with environmental degradation. Conversely, other argue that the problem in question concerns individuals as well. In my opinion, there is clear evidence that the environment is gradually affected by pollution, hence, I think that both the government and individuals must come up with long-term solutions to halt environmental damage.

On the one hand, no matter how despised the government of a country might be, it still represents an influential authority. It is of paramount importance for the government to draw up well-defined and strict policies with regard to combatting global environmental destruction. Furthermore, international cooperation between governments is likely to contribute significantly in reducing pollution.

The government members are usually public figures. Therefore, they should take advantage of this in order to promote ways of maintaing the planet pollution-free as much as possible and to raise awareness among the population of the negative effects a polluted environment can have upon biodiversity and mankind. For example, the government could offer greater incentives so as to encourage people to use renewable energy in greater amounts.

On the other hand, some people frequently neglect the environment. Although a human being is able to survive without food and water for a certain period of time, lack of oxygen and consequently lack of clean air which allows breathing will eventually lead to death. One effective measure the population ought to take is to walk or travel by human-powered vehicles whenever they can instead of driving. By doing this, they would considerably reduce their greenhouse gas footprints. In addition, people should avoid buying products whose packaging is made of non-biodegradable materials.

To conclude, even though I acquiesce that the government has a prime duty to fight against environmental degradation, I strongly believe that major contribution from individuals is mandatorily needed so that Earth's natural can be preserved properly.