As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual well-being.

What factors contribute to job satisfaction?

How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Each person probably defines job satisfaction differently. One has to take many aspects into account before accepting a job offer. While a well-paid job is something most people look for, they also expect other benefits in order to be entirely satisfied with their jobs. However, some claim that there are people whose expectations tend to be exaggerated and unrealistic.

On the one hand, almost every person wants a salary high enough so that he or she can afford to pay for living expenses, essential needs and other treats that make them feel happy. Nevertheless, many workers do not deem money as the most important thing about their job. Every now and then, an employee needs reassurance from their superiors that their work is valuable and it contributes to the development of the company. Today, many enterprises express the appreciation towards their employees by offering them benefits, such as yearly bonuses, in case they reached or exceeded the targets, a company car, luncheon vouchers, free access to the gym or short recreational trips. Furthermore, a friendly and co-operative environment in the workplace increases the worker's level of satisfaction.

On the other hand, a number of workers have expectations that probably no employer will ever meet. For instance, some people ask for outrageously high salaries. Every person should be well aware of the fact that he or she will not always get along with all the co-workers. Many people do not feel satisfied in the workplace due to their colleagues and consequently the quality of their work decreases. Hence, the bosses criticize them and they feel misjudged.

To conclude, I strongly believe that every person should feel content with their job, considering that they spend virtually a lifetime at work. I also think that employees are entitled to have certain expectations in the workplace as long as these expectations are realistic and they can be reasonably fulfilled.