If you want to know a person, look at their friends. How accurate is this statement? What personal experiences have you had that support or refute this claim? Write a well-reasoned essay response with examples.

As goes the saying, 'Birds of a feather flock together', people tend to congregate with like-minded friends. Indeed, a person would be hard-pressed to track down someone whose friends held beliefs at odds with his or her own. Thus, the idea that you can know someone by looking at his or her friends is supported. This will be proven by looking at 2 personal examples depicting how common interests and values are, in all cases, seen between friends.

Firstly, within any institution of significant size, students tend to segregate themselves into groups of friends based on their interests. For example, during my high school years always associated with other students interested in sports. The same phenomenon was true of students interested in other areas, as well. By speaking to any member within 1 of these cliques of friends, a person could quickly become attune to the interests of the group as a whole. Thus, knowing a person by looking at their friends is a theory that holds true.

In addition to interests, often basic values are shared between groups of friends. Take my 2 childhood best friends as examples. Although we now live in different parts of the world as adults, the political discussions we had over the 15 or so years we spent growing up together helped to shape and merge our ideas. In effect, our opinions grew together as 1, and I truly believe that anyone who had a political discussion with either of these 2 people would have a key understanding of my position, too. This shows why the belief that a person can be known through their friends is accurate.

It is clear that if a person wants to know someone else, they can look at their friends for an accurate portrait. It is assumed most people reflect the collective interests and values of their friends in the same way I do.