The importance of biodiversity is being more widely recognized as increasing numbers of species come under threat. What can be done to maintain biodiversity?

In recent years, the significance of biodiversity has gained widespread attention since growing numbers of species are being endangered. This essay will provide possible solutions to help combat this issue.

Firstly, governments around the world should put industrial activities in factories under strict surveillance. This is because these industrial processes often involve the use of toxic chemicals that are often disposed of, in many cases, without being adequately purified. As they are dumped into rivers or buried underground, the toxicity damages the a diverse range of unique life forms live in the affected areas. For that reason, strict and standardized regulations for waste purification should be applied in combination with regular inspections of these industrial facilities. I believe this will help to prevent illegal actions that prioritize profits over responsibilities to environmental safety.

Secondly, I suggest that there local authorities should prevent acts of poaching and hunting animals for any commercial or entertainment purposes. For instance, in some regions in Africa, hunters could pay money to be allowed to shoot down lions and elephants, which are both listed in the red list and are dying out in number at alarming rates, so as they could profit from selling the animals’ valuable body parts. To deal with this, provincial governments should sponsor campaigns to raise public awareness to the current endangered species while establishing protected areas where acts of killing off animals are forbidden and will be met with extensive jail time. This strategy, I think, will help to reduce cases of illegal hunting of vulnerable species.

In conclusion, I believe that it requires combined efforts in different areas with the authorities leading the way in order to preserve biodiversity.