rite about the following topic.

People are never satisfied and always want more.

In what ways is this a good thing and in what ways is this a bad thing?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

People's desire has been depicted to be virtually endless. This essay aims to shed light on the positive and negative that this might lead to.

On the one hand, the aspiration to achieve more can yield positive changes. First and foremost, it motivates suppliers to improve the quality of their products and services, which is crucial for societies to develop. This could be seen in all spheres of life, from technological firms introducing smarter devices to educational institutions devising more effective teaching methods. Furthermore, as members of society work hard to meet their increasing needs, they create a better life for themselves and possibly, contribute more to their communities. Examples to justify this include successful entrepreneurs like Puff Diddy, who fight their way out of poverty and donate money to charitable projects in order to help those in struggling areas.

On the other hand, it is undeniable the insatiable greed could also have an adverse affect on multiple scales. On a personal level, the absence of self-fulfilment may put people under tremendous pressure, which is detrimental to their mental and physical well-being. For instance, research has shown that working tirelessly under constant stress increases risks of depression and cardiovascular diseases among adults. On a wider scale, the never-ending desire for more goods has also birthed conspicuous consumption. As consumers discard objects that are perfectly useable to buy newer products, as illustrated by the case of smart devices, the resulting throwaway society is bound to pollute the environment even more.

In conclusion, I believe that while wanting more could fuel social development in the form of high quality products and better living standards, it could also damage people's health and the environment.