People are never satisfied and always want more.

In what ways is this a good thing and in what ways is this a bad thing?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

It is said that the members of society are deprived of the sense of satisfaction and thus, always aspire to attain their increasingly lengthened lists of desires. This, I believe, comes with noticeable benefits and drawbacks.

In regards with the benefits, that people strive to achieve greater goals has certainly brought about several positive changes. Firstly, desires propel innovation and creativity. This can be illustrated by how companies in all spheres of life, from manufacturing clothing to technological items, invest great sums of money into developing cutting-edge products to satisfy their buyers' demands as soon as possible. Secondly, having mindsets that centralized around pushing development forward can also help to reshape communities with better life values. For instance, throughout the years, issues regarding racism, gender discrimination and outdated customs have been addressed and dealt with thanks to passionate social activities and this has allowed people to unite and live together more harmonously.

However, it is also true that if exploited in the wrong way, humans' desires can also give terrible outcomes. To begin with, while innovation is encouraged, a new "throw-away" culture is also being crafted with people regularly disposing of the things they no longer view as fashionable or leading edge. Objects such as mobile phones, shoes, clothing, for instance, are readily replaced with more modern models despite still retaining their functionality. Also, the perpetual feeling of wanting more materislitic things can also lead to greed and crime. A good example here is when government officials accept briberiy to further enrich their own bank accounts in spite of them already being affluent in comparison to social standards.

In conclusion, the insatiable desire for both tangible and intangible goals can lead to both positive and negative results.