It has been argued that gift giving should not be encouraged, because money is often wasted on things that people do not like or want.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a view against the practice of gift-giving, suggesting that it should be discouraged as money is often spent on buying items that are neither desired nor essential. I strongly disagree with this view, which will be presented in the following essay.

It should be acknowledged that gift buyers do not always make the best shopping decisions. There are a wide variety of popularly selected presents, ranging from garments, reading materials to drinks. These presents could be bought in place of what could actually cater for a recipient’s needs. In this case, buying gifts can indeed lead to a waste of money and should not be encouraged.

However, my firm conviction is that exchanging gifts is a meaningful practice and should be encouraged. To begin with, money would only be wasted if shopping for gifts were done arbitrarily. Mindful gift purchases, in contrast, mean that the receiver is given items that are of practical use. Moreover, it is important to note that there is more to gift-giving than just the monetary value of the present. In other words, being given a present may fill a person with a sense of appreciation, which would result in an overall improvement in their relationship with the gift-giver. The last point to add is that gifts could also be made by hand, which may both cut costs down and attach more sentimental values to the gifts.

In conclusion, while I agree that unplanned gift-shopping could lead to a wasteful expenditure of money, I contend that the act of exchanging presents is meaningful and should be continued, as long as it is done in a thoughtful manner.