The increase in food production is mostly due to fertilisers and better machinery. Yet, some think that it harms human health and communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Fertilisers and machinery are largely responsible for the dramatic growth in food production in recent years. In contrast, some people contend that this has detrimental impacts on our health and community as well.

First, fertilisers have adverse effects on people’s physical well-being. Cancer rates have increased dramatically in the last fifty years. A number of doctors and researchers believe that the chemicals used to grow and produce foods is a significant cause. Thus, farmers have been suing producers of chemical fertilisers for this. The advanced machinery has also contributed substantially to individuals’ health. Processed foods that come from factory farms and are massively produced in a manner which puts people at higher risk of disease. Machines can grind food up into attractive shapes that appear delicious but are packed full of chemicals and preservatives to last longer on shelves. Consuming such pre-prepared foods may result in chronic diseases such as heart-related problems and diabetes.

Manures and technologically advanced machinery are potentially hazardous to the society in general. When people get cancer and become much more obese, this puts a considerable burden on the healthcare system. America even spends more than the next five countries combined on health care. A significant reason for health expenses is the consumption of processed foods which are much cheaper than simple foods. Never in history have we seen the poor so much more overweight than the affluent. Machines have made processed foods less prohibitive than genuine food. Additionally, national productivity will be considerably reduced if people are less healthy as a result of machine-produced food. The life expectancy may lower, people may have less energy at work, and there may be more sick days taken. An eye-opening example is militaries around the world must make physical requirements easier. We seem to be getting weaker as a whole and factory farming may play a significant role in this.

In conclusion, with the help of fertilisers and machinery, the amount of food which have been generated is increasing exponentially. However, I believe that the impacts on human health and national productivity are of great concern.