An increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. Why is this the case, and what solutions are possible?

In today’s society, there is a marked increase in the consumption of consumer goods due to the break in population. In addition, the natural environment has seen considerable degradation in recent years. While it is true that consumer goods production has an undeniable relationship with the environment, some solutions are possible to solve this issue.

Nowadays, in the stress, we can easily find that the petrol cars have gradually been replaced by electric cars. From the customer’s perspective, people think that using automatic vehicles has a positive environmental effect. However, minerals for electric car batteries like cobalt are very rare and if not disposed of properly, they could contaminate water resources, which are home to many aquatic animals. Moreover, by using this unclear water source for a long time, people's health is threatened by many chronic diseases such as cancer or renal impairment. The second reason is plastic is an essential material in production processes, also in packaging and transportation. In some research, about 90% of plastic materials are discarded directly into the environment, not through any waste treatment processes. An increase in goods production would raise this number, which means more garbage or plastic bags would be discarded and pose a detrimental effect on the environment, also the house of humans and many species.

Some solutions could be taken to solve this environmental problem. In terms of vehicles, companies should research and apply material that has a longer lifespan or degrades properly when they are discarded in the environment. Moreover, the government should minimize plastic consumption by elevating the tax for plastic higher than other environmentally friendly such as paper.

In conclusion, the production process effects directly the environment is obvious and increasing taxes is a part of solutions.