With the increase in the use of mobile phones and computers, fewer people are writing letters. Some people think that the traditional skill of writing letters will disappear completely. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the wider acceptance of internet and mobile phone had led to decrease in peoples letter writing abilities. In my view letter writing had evolved to a new level with respect to e-mail, so I partly agree with the statement. When it comes to mobile messaging, it’s completely informal and unstructured, it will lead to complete disappearance of letter writing and I completely agree with the claim.

Letter writing was considered to be s complex skill, it was studied as a major topic in many education systems. This has different formats , one for formal and informal method’s of communication. Each of this format has a specific structure and the tone of the language to be followed. Often to attain this skill it’s a time consuming processes. Secondly few people consider letter writing skill to be an art. The reason for such a belief is due to the fact that it challenges the end user to put all his complex toughts into a finite space, as the letter had limited space to write. One instance is the letter written by Albert Einstein to his son about good work had been sold for about ten million dollars.

In the late twenty first century, internet has gained more popularity, this led to wider acceptance of email as am alternative to letter. Here one can say that letter writing had evolved. The reason to say that it had evolved is due to the fact that email had adopted most of the letter structur. It had introduced new fields like subject, this gives the gist of the mail. Secondly, e-mails can be sent immediately to any part in the world and can be read instantaneously. Due to this reason unlike traditional letter, the size of the mail being sent had decreased and they tend to be more specific about the topic.

The evolution of mobile had greatly led to the fall in letter writing skill. This is because the messages sent via mobile are completely informal and there is no standard structure that gives any specific guidelines to follow while sending a message. These messages are called SMS. Its estimated that people around the globe send about 100 billion SMS a day. This popular acceptance of mobile let to dimnishing the need to write letter and effectively the letter writing ability.

So sum up, email’s inherited few of the structures of traditional letter, while the skill of letter writing is at the verge of being lost in the age of mobile phone