In the contemporary, a number of larger shopping areas, malls, and department stores have increased more and more. As a consequence, these are leading to the decline of smaller corner shops. In my opinion, everything always has its advantages and disadvantages, not except these. Therefore, below are the reasons why I think the expansion of shopping malls and department stores have more positive effects than negative effects.

First of all, shopping in larger areas makes people feel more comfortable and pleasant because of the versatile choices it has. Subsequently, customers will feel more secure while uising mordern payment technology. Furthermore, the malls or department stores also provide people with a commodious and exstentive space to rest after a tiring day. Individuals can eat or hang out at the coffee shop with friends there, without going outside and finding another place to chat. For instance, people can take memorable photos and play at game centers for entertainment as well.

Second of all, I personally think that there are still some disadvantages. The larger shopping areas expand, the more pollution they cause. As a result, this has led to several problems like occupying huge land, creating more crowds, traffic jams and so on. Therefore, there will be the decline of traditional shops. Although it is vital to urbanize the city more modern and concrete-jungle, citizens still have to preserve smaller traditional shops. Customer will have wide range of opportunities to pay a small amount of vat or no vat, compared to when they buy from the malls, which always have the highest rate of vat on mega malls items beacause of the rent expense they have to pay monthly.

To sum up, the increasing number of larger shopping areas, malls and departments has both advantages and disadvantages. Therefore, I assume that we should concentrate another area just for smaller traditional corner shops in order to help customers find much cheaper and distinctive items.