An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online?

It is true that shopping online has gained more and more popularity during the recent years. Even though this trend is beneficial in many perspectives, it also brings about certain negative consequences for both the consumers and the brands.

On the one hand, the advent of shopping online has benefited both parties enormously. Convenience in the experience of the consumers is the most apparent advantage of this new trend. No longer do the consumers have to waste much time going to stores or waiting in long queues, instead, they can have anything they demand delivered right to their door. In addition, these platforms also facilitate consumers with the opportunity to express their honest feedback online, which is a free-of-charge advertisement for the brands, supposed there is no negativity in the reviews. Furthermore, an online platform also helps the local brands approach more customers, compensating the disadvantage of running offline marketing campaigns on a shoestring in small companies.

On the other hand, shopping via online platforms also has its potential drawbacks. Firstly, the companies can manipulate the advertisements in a misleading way that deceives the customers to make their purchase of low-quality products. Secondly, the ease associated with shopping online can also cause overspending and shopping addiction. Finally, there is an increase of viral stories on social media, where consumers regret their impulsive buying and refuse to pay for the products when delivered. As a result, companies have to be responsible for the delivery cost whilst generating no profit, which is damaging for small businesses.

All in all, it seems to me that shopping online has its pros and cons, which both companies and consumers should take into consideration.