Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science & technology. Discuss both these views & give your opinion.

What subjects should be prioritised to study by university students has long been a controversial topic. Some people think they should be based solely on the student’s interest, others argue that it is impractical to do so. While I believe in the importance of the practicality, student’s genuine interest should be taken into consideration to come up with a balanced choice of the subjects to study.

To begin with, if the students are to choose a field of their interest to pursue, proactivity and enthusiasm will, definitely, be shown in their study, thus greater efforts and better results will be made. However, I believe that one’s interest is not always in alignment with society’s need, prompting the possibility of wasting time studying subjects with little impact on their career path.

On the other hand, having knowledge of practical subjects catalyses more job opportunities, hence having better prospects in their career. Nevertheless, those who do not have the passion for these subjects are more likely to get distracted, triggering the failure in obtaining academic achievements, the criteria on which the recruiters base to choose potential candidates. This will necessarily have detrimental effects on their opportunities.

In conclusion, I believe that the students should strike a balance between their interest and requirements of the society when deciding on what subjects to study during university years. One should have a variety of subjects on which they are genuinely keen, then opt to the ones with more practicality to satisfy the demand of the society.