In recent times, consumers are becoming obsessed with online shopping more than ever before. Although this method of shopping is time saving and convenient in so many aspects, it is not exempt from drawbacks. This essay will discuss the positive and negative sides of online shopping in terms of individual and companies.

Looking firstly at the advantages, online shopping has blessed us in numerous ways. With regards to individual, it saves time and is very convenient. This is because customers can order anything they want from the unlimited collection of an online shopping store without going to the shop physically, which would be delivered straight to their doorstep. Moreover, this innovative shopping idea lets the consumers compare the price of same product in different websites so that they can get the best quality item at the lowest price. As for companies, the main advantage is the lower cost to set up a virtual shopping store rather than constructing an actual one. What’s more, it also enables the owner to sell their products on a global scale instead of being confined to regional sector.

Nevertheless, online shopping brings about some demerits as well. One of the most significant problems that online shopping gives rise to is the risk of becoming a victim of security breaches. In other words, while purchasing something from an online store, customers are required to provide their credit card information, which can be hacked or stolen by cyber criminals. Consequently, they might blackmail the consumer or even worse, transfer all the money to somewhere else without providing a clue to the card owners. Another obvious issue is the potential delay in the delivery of a product. While the prominent online retailers are less likely to torment their customers with such problems, majority of the companies cannot keep their promise to send the purchased product timely; therefore, making the experience troublesome for some consumers.

In conclusion, despite enabling the customers to shop anything and from anywhere they want, online shopping also poses some problems, such as theft of credit card information and occasional incidence of deferred delivery that need to be taken into consideration.