In recent times, there is a tendency among the common people to migrate from rural areas to urban areas. Some people make this decision due to prevalence of ample job opportunities, while others settle there for better education and health-care facilities. However, this also brings about some drawbacks, such as affecting agricultural production and aggravation of already persisting overpopulation problems.

Rural to urban migration has a number of causative factors. One of the most obvious causes is that urban city centers provide lots of job opportunities to its residents. This is because, majority of the companies like to build up their headquarters and offices within the city areas, which opens up plenty of working scopes for the employees. For example, youngsters in Bangladesh leave their countryside houses and settle in city areas with the hopes of getting a well-paid job. Another reason behind this shifting is that cities are not only equipped with prominent educational institution but also internationally accredited hospitals. Consequently, people want to move there in order to enjoy better standard of life.

Although rural-urban migration can prove to be advantageous for individual’s purposes, there are some negative sides that the society has to deal with. With an increased rate of migration taking place, the agricultural sector will likely to suffer the most. The reason behind this is that there would be lack of manpower available in the rural areas, which would result in decreased production of crops; thereby, ultimately causing scarcity of foods. India, for instance, is witnessing a devastating effect due to shortage of food that has originated from the excessive shifting of farmers to city areas. Another potential problem is that if all the rural people decided to move toward towns, then cities and towns would face population explosion. In other words, these megacities would scramble to accommodate the increased population as well as to provide them with employment.

In conclusion, since there is higher probability of getting lucrative jobs and enhanced lifestyle in metropolis, people tend to show greater interest of moving into big cities, which, in turn, destroys the agricultural side and breeds numerous overpopulation problems in urban areas.