There is no doubt that a country’s history plays a major role in shaping its future. Since time immemorial, people have been keeping track of their histories by various methods. This essay will discuss some ways of storing the history as well as point out the importance of history to society.

One way of passing down the historical knowledge to the following generation is to establish more museums. This is because, museums are the archive of massive amount of historical information, which the visitors can easily achieve just by paying a visit there. For instance, the Bangladeshi government has built a huge museum that contains artifacts, documents and relics of its liberation war, reminding its citizens about its glorious past. Another method for conveying the historical facts to the upcoming generation is to make history lessons compulsory in the school. As teachers are the storehouse of knowledge, the history teacher would be able to enlighten the pupils with their in-depth knowledge of history. Therefore, schools can play a vital role in transferring history to the future generation.

History is considered as the foundation of a nation; hence, its significance cannot be denied. In other words, the emergence of a country does not usually happen overnight. In fact, it takes hundreds and thousands of years of struggles, wars, rebellions and political events to reach the stage as it is now. Consequently, history has paved the way to the formation of a civilization; thus, it cannot be led to fall into oblivion. Moreover, by analyzing the history, people will not only find out the great achievements of their ancestors but also the mistakes they had made. In this way, we would be able to avoid the repetition of the same mistake, and help in further advancement of our nation.

In conclusion, building new museums and instructing schools to make history class mandatory are two of the effective solutions to pass on history to the succeeding generation. The importance of history lies in being the base of a nation and the benefits it provide to help people learn from it.