An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments.

Technology is man's greatest ally and worst foe. In this era, technological evolution, it is criminal to be not updated with the latest developments. The last decade has revolutionised the used to technology which has entered into every sphere of life and today we are practically surrounded by a tech gadget all the time. Amidst this technological boom , education has seen an unprecendented growth of use of laptops , tablets in schools, to the extent that they are competing with the traditional mainstream methods of books, assignments and exam. Such an insurmountable growth obviously raises questions and eyebrows regarding what are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

To begin with, students with laptops and tablets have far more access to knowledge than any traditional book can ever provide. Also students get pin-pointed answers to questions as compared to books who tend to get verbose. This inculcates in the student to answer to the point- a training that will help him in future. Students who are technologically sound in today's world are the more adaptive ones. With unlimited access to knowledge students can develop an analytical and questioning attitude , not ready to accept anything without proof. This will engender a scientific temper in them. In the point of view of teachers , a shift from assignments to digital assignments can make them to change the nature of assignments from mainstream questions to real-world problems. They can give interesting assignments that will bring out the best in the student. An online exam will be suitable for teachers as they can ensure every student writes their paper and no chance of question paper getting leaked.

Since this universe rests on the principle of yin and yang, it is evident that this seemingly perfect advancement may not look as flowery as it claims it is. Internet is a very powerful and potent tool. If not used judiciously it has the power to destroy lives and careers. A student can be a victim of a scandal or fraud which potentially ruins his/her life. Without books the interest to read will wane away , as a result children will feel bored to read a book which can affect their ability to concentrate. Students who are used to technologies will find it rather difficult to perform mental math, hence their memory will be lesser as compared to others. Also printed materials like exam in a subtle way encourage friendship and bonding, which will be lost. Considering an example of you helping a friend to pass an exam despite the danger of you getting caught or helping a friend to finish assignments speaks volumes about friendship. For This humane touch will be lost and we might just become some living, breathing efficient robots

In retrospect , replacing books, exams and assignments , with laptops and tablets might just make us good in our job and help us excel in life but it must always strive to keep that humane touch intact and so for that we need books and exams