An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Technology is evolving rapidly and is becoming an important part of our everyday life. Today we have electronic devices and gadgets for almost every task, whether small or big. Computers, laptops, tablets et cetera have become an inherent part of every sector today. The education sector is not an exception. Today more and more schools and colleges are encouraging students to bring laptops and tablets in classrooms. Some of them are even providing laptop computers for use in place of textbooks.

The use of tablets and computers for educational purposes has its own advantages. Children don’t have to carry heavy backpacks which was often cited as a problem by health practitioners. Multiple books can be accessed on one tablet or laptop. This is not only easy and hassle-free but also great for the environment. As students switch from traditional paperback books to e-books, the usage of paper will reduce saving a lot of trees. Also, using electronic medium saves a lot of space at homes, schools and colleges. During the Covid-19 pandemic the online classes and ebooks helped students to continue their studies even without going to schools, book shops or libraries. Cheap internet availability in India has also played a significant role. A student can now search for any information or solution using search engines like Google, Yahoo et cetera.

Though the increasing use of tablet and laptops computers has its own advantages there are several disadvantages as well. It is often noticed that students end up using their personal computers or tablets more for entertainment and fun purposes than for educational purposes. This defeats the whole objective and purpose of providing them with electronic gadgets in the first place. Some opticians also advocate for a balanced use of laptops and phones, since the blue light which comes out of the screen is harmful for eyes. Doctors suggest that the increase in incidences of eye problems in younger people is due to extensive use of laptop computers and smartphones. Also, it is pertinent to note that gadgets like tablets and laptops and not affordable to people from lower-income groups. Poor children still take advantage of traditional studying materials to support their studies as it is easily accessible in public libraries.

To conclude, we can say that using tablets and laptop computers is not bad. However, a cautious and balanced use of laptops and tablets is important. Traditional books and material will always remain a part of the education system due to its easy access and preference of parents.