With an increasing population communicating via the internet and text message, face-to-face communication will become a thing of the past.

To what extent do you agree?

In recent years, society has witnessed noticeable changes regarding the medium people use for interaction. By virtue of the technological advancements, the prevalence of Internet and text messaging has also increased at a stratospherically high level. As a result, stances are indicating that face-to-face communication will soon die out. However, I am in favor of the opinion that text messaging will not replace the traditional way, of which the reasons will be elucidated further in this essay.

To begin with, it is undeniable that technology plays a pivotal role in making exchanging information easier. One prominent justification for this is that there are a host of applications created to cultivate the communicating experience, namely Messenger or Telegram. With an engaging interface as well as several add-ons that may help users expressing their true emotions like stickers or emojis, it is possible that those applications can slowly become a ubiquitous method of chatting.

Turning to the other side of the argument, however, through face-to-face conversations, individuals could present a more sincere self than it is online. As can be seen in many articles in newspapers, some dating-apps users got cheated by the person they talked to on those platforms courtesy of the rather low security and uncertainty lurking beneath this type of making acquaintances. Another example worth mentioning is that when interacting directly with one's loved one, they may witness verbal and non-verbal language like hugging or holding hands, adding in the variety of expressing which the online experience may lack. By shedding light on this example, it is crystal clear that face-to-face conversations may contain more realness and certainty, as well as better at bolstering relationships. Moreover, it is prospective that some individuals ought not to achieve the way of using technological gadgets on a throughout scale like the elderly. Therefore, real-life chats may remain the major medium of interaction.

In conclusion, notwithstanding chatting via applications being ubiquitous courtesy of the development of technology, face-to-face communication seems to last with time due to its realness and straightforward interactions.