Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Protecting the environment has always been a heated topic of the public, especially with regards to whom are suitably in charge of improving the environment. Many people say that individuals cannot do anything to help the natural surroundings to become better, and they also stated that only the authorities and big companies can contribute to making a difference. However, from my point of view, individuals still can take actions to help with environmental improvements, which is donating and spreading awareness to people in the society.

First of all, donating money to non-profit organizations so that they can plant trees around the world is one way of embarking on improving the natural surroundings. There are many different means of donating, one of them is through using applications on mobile phone, namely 'Ecosia'. This is an app and also a search engine and each ten times you use it to search something online, a tree will be planted somewhere on the Earth, which will benefit the environment. Up to now, 'Ecosia' has planted nearly 106 million trees around the world. If it was not for the help of each person in the society, there would not be so many trees planted on our planet.

Last but not least, spreading awareness is always a simple yet effective way to stepping one step closer to a better environment. With the help of different platforms of social media, people can speak up about the current situation and help others to be more aware of protecting the ecosystem. As a social media user, I have seen many pages that truly care about our planet and give people helpful information, for example Little Sun or The National Resources Defense Council.

In conclusion, although the authorities and large companies can play an important role in making a difference in the environment, each and every individual are capable to do something to this matter too.