Indiciduals can do nothing to improve the environment; only government and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environment protection is one of the most important challenges almost every country is facing. However, whether only governments and big corporations have the resources and capabilities to preserve our environment is controversial issue. My view is that every single citizen could also make a huge difference.

Firstly, it is clear that human activities have had the greatest impact on the environment throughout history. Both environmental degradation and preservation are the long-term process, and no single government or big company can meet this challenge alone. So, whoever, created the problem should solve it; environment protection needs every one of us to continuously participate in.

Moreover, the public’s wills and behaviours have a critical influence on government policies and company strategies. For example, if everyone says “no” to plastic shopping bags and paper cups, the companies that manufacture such as products will switch to environmentally-friendly substitutes in order to survive in the market.

This is not to say that governments and large companies can not positively contribute. Indeed, governments can enact laws and introduce programmes to raise the public’s ecological footprint awareness; companies can promote green products to change the public’s consuming habits. But they also need every citizen’s appreciation and support to bring good results.

In summary, no effort is too small when we are protecting the environment. Meanwhile, local authorities and organisations must shoulder their responsibility to develop a low carbon economy at the macro level. Only by doing so can we assure that we will hand this beautiful planet to our next generation, and the next generation thereafter.