Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Provide reasons for your answer. Include relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Over the past few years, pollution and traffic have become a worse problem, which in turn has made people’s life very pathetic and also they are undergoing many fatal ailments. However, some people reckon that escalating the price of fuel such as petrol can be the best method to curb traffic as well as pollution regarding predicaments. Here, I agree with the statement and will deliver other methods to address this problem.

To begin with, the lifestyle of people has been changed very dramatically wherein they prefer to live an opulent and lavish life, as a result, everyone nowadays owns private vehicles, thus hike in the cost of petrol can overcome this ramification very effectively. Firstly, when there will be a rise in the price of petrol then people’s mentality will change, and thereby they may move towards public transportation because of less expense in traveling. On top of that, vehicles have a huge contribution in the rising levels of pollution owing to emission of toxic gases from them therefore if the price of petrol will be increased then people’s monthly budget will disturb and in order to maintain balance in the budget they will be likely to use fewer vehicles.

On the other hand, there are various other measures which can be taken to cope with this grim problem. Firstly, the government should aware people about the dire consequences of pollution on their lives and children so that people could understand their responsibility. Furthermore, there should be a promotion of plantation from the side of government as well as people, as it is the most viable alternative. In addition, people should mostly prefer to commute either by using bicycles or electric vehicles, as there is no emission of carbon. For instance, it has been found in many surveys that Iceland is the cleanest country in the world because there is a huge usage of electric vehicles.

In conclusion, I opine that pollution is the biggest threat for humankind and here both governments and people should come forward to mitigate this problem.