Recently, the traffic congestion and environmental problems have become the hottest issue worldwide. Some people support the idea that the increase of gas prices could be the solution to tackle these problems. Personally, I think the it could be but there are many more effective methods to solve the problems of traffic jams and severe environmental pollution.

To begin with, I think the increasing price of gasoline would be a short-sighted method which just scratched the surface and cannot solve the problem in the long run. Because of expensive gas, people with impoverished background might give up using cars, but the rich still continues to drive. In other words, the way of increasing price of petrol merely affects a small group of people who can’t afford them. Therefore, the problems of pollution and traffic congestion will not be radically resolved.

In my views, there are several effective methods which could be used to solve the problems of pollution and traffic jams. One of the best ways is to invest in public infrastructure such as widening the road and developing means of public transportations. Because the efficiency of public transportations could benefit all residents. For example, Shang Hai, one of the largest cities in China, with nearly 23 million population, it has the most effective public metro system which helps the city reduce the traffic and pollution problem largely, while most locals would like travel by metro rather than their private cars regardless of their income. Additionally, the way of encouraging people to use cars with green energy is also very effective. In Shen Zheng, government subsidised citizens who purchase or use electric vehicles and the governments also granted taxi drivers further tax cuts if the drivers would use electric automobiles. By doing this, the air condition of Shen Zhen has improved a lot.

In conclusion, there is a long way for people to solve the problems of traffic and pollution problems, but the government should implement more considerate methods such as development of public transportations and encouraging the use of vehicles with newly developed energy other than merely the increase of gas price.